Porridge Soap by Sally

About the item:

Porridge Soap

3.5oz for $5.95

Available in any size 3.5oz and up

The Official Lush Cosmetics website lists Porridge Soap as a new item, describing it as a soap “stuffed with real oats for an exfoliating scrub and fresh orange juice to invigorate sleepy heads.” Lush goes on to compare the smell to sweet molasses and says the soap is ideal for sensitive skin.

Its safe synthetic components are Sodium Coco-Sulfate, Perfume, Sodium Palm Kernelate, and propylene Glycol. Its natural and/or organic components are Water , Pinhead Oatmeal (Avena sativa), Fresh Organic Orange Juice (Citrus Aurantium dulcis), Titanium Dioxide, Labdanum Resinoid (Cistus labdaniferus), Sweet Orange Oil (Citrus sinensis), Glycerine, Sodium Chloride, and Limonene.

My review:

When I walked into Lush to look around, a Lush employee enthusiastically shoved a piece of Porridge in front of my face for me to smell, asking if I had tried any yet. I was a little annoyed until I smelled the little bugger– it was the most delicious scent I could have ever imagined (think: waking up to fresh oatmeal with brown sugar and orange juice… served in bed by your significant other… while on vacation in a fancy bed and breakfast… in Vermont. Yes, that good.). I bought a chunk and was soon enthusiastically shoving it in front of other peoples faces for days, until I went into Lush a few weeks later to buy two more big chunks (I hadn’t even used all of the first one, yet!). The point I’m skirting around (not-so-subtley) is that it was love at first sniff, and after reading the ingredients and their effects, I’m not surprised I liked it so much.

First, this baby has pinhead oatmeal in it. When you pick up a chunk, it looks like smooth taffy with pieces of oatmeal in it– great for exfoliating. The oatmeal also has calcium, carbohydrates, iron, Vitamin B1, and various proteins in it, making it a super moisturizing (yet still exfoliating) soap. Even better, oatmeal is the only food that naturally contains gamma linolenic acid– a fatty acid sometimes found in vegetable oils– which is a proven anti-inflammatory weapon. If you have sunburn, a rash, or skin irritation, then this soap is for you (as long as you can tolerate the slight roughness of the oats).

On top of the oatmeal, Porridge Soap has organic orange juice in it to give you a dose of vitamins A, B, C, and D, as well as to tighten pours, reduce aging, and invigorate skin. Oils inside of the soap help with dry and itchy skin, while anti-bacterial components found in Labdanum Resinoid combat germs.

All these components are mixed in with the usual Lush base of Rapeseed Oil, Sunflower Oil and Coconut Oil. These oils combine to moisturize in an unbelievable way– complete with vitamins A, D, and E, zinc, potassium, calcium, iron, and phosphorus. Not to mention, I get to bathe with something that smells like delicious oatmeal-and-orange-juice breakfast (though, many Lushies compare it so an oatmeal cookie or molasses)!

After trying Porridge Soap, my opinion didn’t change. It smelled delicious in the shower and made my bathroom smell like porridge for hours after, even though I removed the soap after using it. It created a generous lather and made my skin incredibly soft. Some reviewers feel the oatmeal was too rough for sensitive skin, but I loved it… it caused no irritation whatsoever and only exfoliated dry patches I had on my upper arms.

After a few uses, I have begun to notice that my Porridge Soap bar isn’t lasting as long as my other soaps usually do– it seems to be a bit softer in texture, though some Lush employees have told me that it was a fresh batch that needs to sit to “cure”. I get the feeling this soap is just a little softer, in general. The oats have begun to fall oat of the bar of soap as I use it. This isn’t a real surprise, as what goes in the soap must eventually come out, and I am happy to see that I’m not losing them in huge amounts that clog the drain or cling to my body… I just lose a few here and a few there each shower.

Overall I am very happy with this soap. It has probably become my favorite lush soap (perhaps even my favorite lush item!) mostly because of it’s incredible scent and exfoliating properties. I leave the shower, everytime, feeling totally moisturized and happy. Not to mention, this soap is completely affordable as it is one of the cheapest soaps that Lush offers!

Bang-For-Your-Buck Rating: $$$

Overall Rating: 5

One response to “Porridge Soap by Sally

  1. After two glowing reviews, I’ll have to try this one! I do love a good scrubby soap.

    Lisa (bunkie68 on Swappers Online)

Leave a Reply

