B Electro by Sally

B Electro Soap

About the Item
B Electro Soap
3.5 oz for $6.95
Available in any size 3.5 oz and up

The Official Lush Website lists B Electro Soap as a new (and limited time only!) guest soap infused with “grapefruit, jasmine, rose and fennel.”

Its safe synthetic components are: Sodium Palm Kernelate, Propylene Glycol, Sodium Coco-Sulfate, Sodium Stearate, Perfume, D&C Green No. 8, D&C Blue No.1, D&C Yellow No.7, D&C Red No. 27.

Its natural and/or organic ingredients are: Fennel Oil (Foeniculum vulgare), Grapefruit Oil (Citrus grandis), Jasmine Absolute (Jasminum officinale), Rose Absolute (Rosa centifolia), Glycerine, Sodium Chloride, Benzyl Salicylate, Geraniol, Farnesol, Benzyl Benzoate, Citronellol, and Limonene.

My Review:

I hate to say it, but this is one of the few Lush products I’ve tried that I’m not absolutely dying over. When I read on the forums that it was finally available in the U.S., I ran out to Providence, RI to snag it from the mall. It was propped up on a table right near the register, and I grabbed a huge piece in my hands, smiled, closed my eyes, tilted back my head, took a deep whiff and… cried out in disappointment. Really, I think I actually said “What?” out loud and snarled my lip. What was this soap? It was like a cheap impression of Sexy Peel without the soulful orange undertones and the lick-your-lips citrus fullness.

As I sit here now, I imagine melting down sexy peel, adding not-quite-ripe grapefruits and then watering it down significantly (and of course, dumping the contents of a whole pack of yellow highlighters inside).

I tried not to show my disappointment. Instead, I picked up a piece to buy and had Alex try smelling it to see if I was crazy. He thought it was good (I think?), but it wasn’t the delicious punch in the face that Porridge is for us, so he pretty much walked away to toy with some other soaps.

I bought it, took it home, sliced off a little piece and set it in the shower to replace my big Ice Blue bar that I’ve been working on for almost a month now. My first shower with it was just a few days ago, and I must say that the experience was about as wonderful as my first impression of the soap was. Don’t get me wrong– I’m going to give this some more time– but it didn’t have great lather and had no aromatic qualities that really stuck with me thoughout my shower. In fact, I sort of found myself rushing with it because the smell was so sour to me. It isn’t horrible, by any means, and I’m actually a HUGE fan of citrus scented goods… it just didn’t pack a punch the way I had hoped it would. I detect the grapefruit, but it really just comes off smelling like a big-ass bar of sexy peel went sour. Booo!

What have others said about the scent? Most reviews I’ve read just keep saying that the scent is up in the air– they hated it, but can see how some would like it, or loved it but could see how some could hate it. The one thing they all agree upon is that B Electro would be suitable for men and women as it isn’t overtly floral or girly.

That being said, we judge a soap on more than just our personal scent preferences, because I know plenty of people who LOVE the B Electro smell. I have to give this soap MAJOR points for color payoff– it LITERALLY looks like someone dumped highlighters into this baby. When I rubbed it on my wash cloth to wash up, it was glowing like we were under a blacklight. The picture really doesn’t do it justice.

The ingredients in this present another huge upside to the soap. As written in my Porridge review, B Electro also has the typical ” base of Rapeseed Oil, Sunflower Oil and Coconut Oil. These oils combine to moisturize in an unbelievable way– complete with vitamins A, D, and E, zinc, potassium, calcium, iron, and phosphorus.” However, on top of that, this soap has Fennel Oil, Grapefruit Oil, Rose and Jasmine Absolutes! This baby is GREAT for your skin! I haven’t noticed much of a difference yet, but like I said, I’ve only used it once and was so put off by the smell that I doubt I was grazing my skin to check my good work.

Another upside to this soap is because it lathers so little (as opposed to Porridge, which is soft and lathers like crazy, or even Rockstar, which is medium-soft and lathers a little) it will probably last a reaaaallllyyy long time. Hope you like the scent!

Bang-For-Your-Buck Rating: $$ (for long lasting for the semi-expensive price)

Over-All Rating: 3 (for long lasting, unisex capabilities, and fabulous color)

Do you want to try this soap? Leave a comment and be entered in a raffle to win a sample (with free shipping) sent right to your door!

19 responses to “B Electro by Sally

  1. i want to try it! i love citrus smell but based on your review i’m not sure this will make the cut.

  2. I’m the type to try everything at least once, too 🙂

  3. I go back and forth on citrus — I like citrus smells in general, but sometimes they’re just not…interesting enough to hold my attention. The color on this one sounds like it could almost make up for a lackluster scent, though. 😉 I don’t live near a LUSH store, so maybe I’ll keep my fingers crossed for a sample in one of my mail orders.

  4. I love me some citrus smell. Hopefully, I’ll make it to a Lush store to check this new soap while its around 🙂

  5. wow, great blog. love the detailed, thoughtful reviews. and such a tease(!) as I’m in australia so have to wait and wait for us to catch up on products, if we get them at all. sigh. regardless, am keen myself to give b electro a big sniff.

  6. How strange! I really like the smell of B Electro but have never liked Sexy Peel. I definitely need to try this one and not just smell little samples, though.

  7. I liked the smell of this, but my husband did not. Ironically, he liked the Godmother far more.

    I do love the Providence Lush though. Their employees are the best!

  8. Another Providence Lushite!! Hello!
    Your review is great– very helpful. I, too, went to the store and took a wiff of this soap and was rather put off. I wouldn’t pay money to try it myself, but getting it free in a raffle would be great! 😀
    Your blog is getting tacked to my favorites as we speak 🙂 Can’t wait for more reviews!

  9. I do typically like the citrus scented soaps (they help wake me up in the shower), but the combination with jasmine and rose sounds a little odd to me. It’s one that I’m definitely going to have to smell before buying.

    I’m a HUGE fan of Porridge, too! I use on my daughter who has eczema and it seems to be helping a lot. I’ve found it quite moisturizing.

  10. I’m disappointed, I thought B Electro was going to be better. If I ever get a store near me maybe I can try it out, but I doubt I”ll place an order just for it. I was looking forward to some grapefruitiness…

  11. I loved the B Never perfume, so I was hoping that B Electro was very similar. Still waiting to try this out…

  12. Thanks so much for your description and experience with B Electro soap. I’m a huge fan of Lush’s Sexy Peel soap and a lover of citrus scents in general. I’m sorry B Electro didn’t deliver for you scent-wise; scent is so important to me, so I feel you! I’ll still try this soap at some point (maybe I’ll win it, haha) for several reasons:
    1. to let my nose judge for itself
    2. the color is groovy
    3. the moisturizing ingredients.

    Thanks for sharing this blog!

  13. So far, I love this blog. I’m glad I read this because I was debating about trying some new soaps (I became a Lushie because of their facial cleansers, and I haven’t really branched off from there yet). I’ll still give B. a try, especially because of the moisturizing properties!

    Your blog just got added to my favorties…thanks for posting in livejournal!

  14. The fennel content on this is putting me off, but I like the smell of lemon and grapefruit so I’m quite tempted to try it. Having a unisex smell is a definite plus though, because if I bought it and didn’t like it I could always give it to my brother!

  15. Great review! I’ve been wanting to try this for a while but I’ve spent my Lush fund (and similarly I only half of my ice blue left – eek!). Definitely on the ‘wants’ list along with Porridge as I need a good scrub 😉 Thanks for the party list too; however I think my bank account is due to go into the red at approximately 10.05 am!

  16. Sounds like a try-before-you-buy. I can’t wait to smell it anyway. I loved Cocktail last year, so I’ll give any guest soap a try.

  17. I’ve been staring at this soap for a while. I want to try it but am hesitant because there have been so many mixed reviews. I wish there was a store nearby so I could go sniff it.

    On another note I wanted to let you know that I absolutely LOVE your blog!!! It is soooo informative. I love all of your reviews!! I love everything about it!! Thank you for putting this together!! I can’t wait for more!!

  18. Jessie aka sparkyhedgehog

    Ooops!! I didn’t know how the leave a comment thing worked. Is it possible for you to remove my last name and my email address from the website part on the above comment?

    Sorry. I’m a little new to commenting on blogs.
    Thank you!!

  19. TrailerTrashPrincess

    i ordered a few chunks of the B Electro from the UK as soon as it was available and all i can say is BLECH! yuck. oh, yuck. it is, perhaps, the most foul-smelling Lush soap i’ve ever encountered. and that’s saying something, considering how much i hate coconut.
    i do think the bars i got were neat, though, ‘cuz they had some neon orange on top, along with the fluorescent yellow.
    i think my problem with it is that it smells of grapefruit (which i hate) & cedar (which i don’t like the smell of).

Leave a Reply

