Silky Underwear Dusting Powder by Sally

About the Item

Silky Underwear Dusting Powder

3.5 oz $11.95

One size only

The Official Lush website lists Silky Underwear Dusting Powder asa “light jasmine fragranced powder” that “refreshes and lightly moisturizes skin.” The website also says that “Silky Underwear is refreshing anytime. Cornstarch keeps your skin silky, while tiny grains of cocoa butter lightly moisturize. Apply it as a pick-me-up during the day or after the show to slow down before bed. However you want to use it, Silky’s subtle yet sexy jasmine and vetivert scent leaves you wanting more.”

It contains: Cornstarch (Zea mays), Kaolin, Fair Trade Cocoa Butter (Theobroma cacao), Magnesium Carbonate, Perfume, Jasmine Absolute (Jasminum officinale), Vetivert Oil (Vetiveria zizanoides) and Linalool.

My Review:

I was apprehensive about buying this in stores. I’ve never, ever used powder for anything. Ever. I know some people who dust baby powder on themselves after a shower, and I know some people who put it in their shoes in the summer. I know that some people put it in their babies’ diapers to prevent rash. I know it is odor neutralizing, and has about a million uses.

I also know that most powders are primarily made of Talc, which is terrible for your body. It is one of the causes of lung cancer, skin cancer, and ovarian cancer (it is found in 75% of ovarian tumors!), and causes tumors even in animals. That being said, the Lush Dusting Powders contain NO TALC. Umm, amazing? This is what sold me in the store, even having never used a dusting powder. I figured, well, since I’ve strayed from powders for so long due to Talc, I might as well try the first one I’ve ever seen that doesn’t contain it.

I sniffed it in stores and frankly wasn’t impressed with the smell, but the price was reasonable considering how long I figured it would last. I took it home and didn’t really touch it for about a week, and then decided to pop open the top. First problem: The top is like those Parmesan cheese cans. You have to use your finger to punch it open, then you can spin around the top so that the opening lines up with it the way you want (either to get a lot, or to get a little). Well, I couldn’t punch the bugger open! I eventually got a fork, grabbed it by the teeth, and stabbed my way to freedom– err, to lovely dusting powder. I’ll admit, it took me three or four high speed stabs until this thing finally opened (okay, okay, so I haven’t been to the gym in weeks).

Once I got it open, I turned it upside down to get a “little” out. Bad idea. I started to think, maybe this packaging isn’t brilliant? If you try to turn it on it’s side to get a little shake out, a TON comes out. But it is unfortunately your only option. I thought that was a bummer and wasn’t sure I’d use it frequently, but once I got a whiff of the stuff out of the Lush store (where I could REALLY take in the scent independent of the giant wheels of soap), I LOVED IT! I can’t place my finger on what it is… but it’s like milky coconut (this is probably the cocoa butter) mixed with some flower petals (it isn’t strong enough to remind me of one flower in particular). It is an unbelievably dreamy, soft smell.

(Note: To deal with my packaging issue, I’ve been using a huge body dusting brush from Victoria’s Secret– I press it up against the top of the container, turn it on its side, let some powder out onto the brush, and then dust the powder all over myself with the brush)

I’ve discovered, after weeks of dedicated use, that if I use Potion Lotion over Silky Underwear it locks in the scent ALL day. I’ll put it on in the morning after a shower (9am-ish) and when I go out with friends at 10pm I’ll STILL get compliments on my scent from across the table. I LOVE perfume and I LOVE being fragrant (shampoo, perfume, whatever it may be), but I have never been so noticeably delicious!

My favorite part about this dusting powder is the way it makes my skin feel– no doubt thanks to the cocoa butter. My skin feels AMAZING after. Silky and smooth. I can put it on my legs after not shaving for a week and my legs feel as smooth as if I had JUST shaved (ladies, don’t deny how amazing that is!). I will totally continue to buy a product that promotes my laziness and makes my boyfriend happy. Score!

Bang-For-Your-Buck Rating: $$$

Overall Rating: 4 (minus one point for poor packaging)

2 responses to “Silky Underwear Dusting Powder by Sally

  1. Oh, great ideas on how to use the powder. I’m definately going to try the layering with Potion.

  2. liquidtrance000 (swappersonline)

    I just got a swappers account thanks to your raving review of the forum! Can’t wait to explore all the options!

    And I can’t wait for more reviews!
    I’ve found it’s even easier to use the dusting powders if you transfer the contents into a tupperware container. You definitely do lose the aesthetic appeal when you downgrade to a tupperware, but storing it in a container with a larger opening makes it much easier to dip the brush in and not waste any product. I also found today that soft coeur makes a good partner with silky underwear! 🙂

Leave a Reply

