Rub Rub Rub Shower Gel by Sally

Note: The “Tips” section is now up, featuring tips for making your Lush last and for the most enjoyable experience possible!

About the Item

Rub Rub Rub Shower Gel

3.3 fl. oz $8.95

8.4 fl. oz $14.95

16.9 fl. oz $23.95

The Official Lush Website lists Rub Rub Rub as a “refreshing” and “invigorating” sea salt, lemon and mimosa scrub. The website also says that it is “extra cleansing and mineral rich,” and that it can even be used as a shampoo!

The website specifies, however, that you should always shake up Rub Rub Rub before using due to the high salt content in it.

Rub Rub Rub contains the following Natural and/or Organic components: Fine Sea Salt (Sodium Chloride), Water (Aqua), Fresh Organic Lemon Juice (Citrus limonum), Jasmine Flower Infusion (Jasminum officinale), Mimosa Absolute (Mimosa tenuiflora), Orange Blossom Absolute (Citrus Aurantium dulcis), Jasmine Absolute (Jasminum officinale), Lemon Oil (Citrus limonum), Lactic Acid, Limonene.

Rub Rub Rub contains the following safe synthetic ingredients: Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Sodium Cocoamphoacetate, Lauryl Betaine, Perfume, Blue No. 1, D&C Red 28.


My Review:

I bought this specifically to review it, having read nothing about it whatsoever and seeing it in the Newbury Street (Boston) store the day it was stocked. I bought the 8.4 fl. oz size, thinking I’d probably like it based simply on the fact that it was blue, and lush typically reserves blue for items that are “oceany” and/or “fresh” (see: big blue, seanik, world piece, ice blue, ocean salt, etc, etc).

I took it home and stuck it in the shower, happy to replace my Flying Fox shower gel I’ve been using for a few weeks (BLARGH! …but you’ll hear all about that in one of my next reviews). First thing I noticed upon my next shower/an adequate inspection was that this baby was incredibly heavy for a little bottle. Like, REALLY heavy. I am certain it is because of the high salt content, especially so because the entire bottom half of the bottle was salt that had settled to the bottom and caked into a solid form, leaving the top gooey and runny. I shook it up, thinking it would solve the problem, and it didn’t. I shook some more, squeezed the bottle, opened it to relieve some pressure, shook again, squeezed, rolled it between my hands, and after all that only a little bit of the salt had distributed. I got to work, shaking it for 10 seconds and then using my thumbs to break up the salt through the wall of the bottle (and repeat). Finally, the salt was broken up and I could see air bubbles on the bottom of the bottle. It probably took about 5 minutes in all to spread the salt through the gel, which isn’t long, but might be if you’re in a rush before work in the morning (not to mention, considering how heavy the bottle was, it was like a mini-workout!).

Once I felt good about the salt distribution and confident that I’d be using the product correctly to write an accurate review, I squirted some into my hand and marveled at how thin it was. Usually, when I turn a bottle upside down and the gel moves down to the opening, it slides down slowly and looks thick and goopy, leaving a thick residue on the edges of the bottle. That is definetly not what happened with Rub Rub Rub. It slid right down quickly– maybe I just got a thin batch and I am by no means saying it was a “bad” thing, I’m just suggesting to be prepared for a very different consistency.

I smoothed it on my arms and marveled at the little bits of salt– it is like if you took ocean salt and watered it down a bit. And it smells SOOOO YUMMY! If you liked Sakura, 17 Cherry Tree Lane, or Ocean Salt, you will love this because it is essentially the same scent as the formers with an twinge of the latter.

It exfoliated my skin in a lovely way, but I decided to put some on my louffa/loofa/pouf/whatever to see how it felt. It didn’t appear to lather much at all– I needed to use quite a bit to get some good lather, and I lost the nice feeling of the salt exfoliation because the loofa was doing that already (and I think the salt was getting “lost” in the folds of it). I think this is more of a straight-from-bottle-to-body shower gel, but that just might be me.

I know this sounds like a fairly neutral review, and I guess I don’t think Rub Rub Rub was anything SUPER special, but I LOVE the salt (despite the difficulty to mix it– maybe it would be easier if I used a popsicle stick from now on?) and I think it is 10,000 x better than the other shower gels I’ve tried so far (Chai and Flying Fox). A lot of that, though, probably has to do with the type of scents you like. If you tend to lean toward something fresh, clean, oceany, with a hint of floral, you’d probably love this.

I also think this is a better alternative to many other “sugar scrubs” or “sea salt scrubs”, etc, because it doesn’t leave you with that coated-in-grease feeling that overdoses of cocoa butter and oil give you. It leaves you feeling squeeky clean and fresh, and also doesn’t coat the bottom of the tub in slick grease. It easily washes away and the scent stays.

I’ve used this in the shower for about a week now, and will continue to do so. Will I buy it again? I’m not sure, but not because it wasn’t enjoyable. I just prefer soap. Shower gels are used so quickly, in my opinion, and soap does the exact same thing.

What are your thoughts?

Bang for Your Buck Rating: $ (much more expensive than soap and doesn’t last as long)

Overall Rating: 3

5 responses to “Rub Rub Rub Shower Gel by Sally

  1. I got a 500 ML from the UK in a Group order and after months of hearing about RRR I was SO excited to try it. I was a little taken aback by the scent however after you rince it off you get that familiar Sakura/17CTln scent that I absolutely adore! I love this so much. It leaves me soft and I have no need toput on a body spray after I dry off as I smell like Sakura

  2. ooh, thanks for this! I’ve read a few reviews for this gel which actually put me off a bit of this product, but after reading this i think it’s time to put it onto the want list!

  3. TrailerTrashPrincess

    i haven’t encountered NA RRR, but the UK version is very, very runny and thin. the salt isn’t as hard to keep mixed if you use it every day and give it a good shake beforehand.

    also, at least for the UK version, YYY is just as thin and watery and non-lathering. but smells delicious and softens nicely. 🙂

  4. that whole mixing process/having to shake up the salt etc. would have probably just pissed me off. haha.

  5. I have mixed feelings on RRR myself. I enjoyed the smell and salt but I am not sure I will buy a bottle of this, because I think I will be getting some Ocean Salts instead as I can use that on my face too, and it feels better and smells ok. I have similar mixed feelings on YYY as well.

Leave a Reply

