Seanik Solid Shampoo by Alex

About the Item

Seanik Solid Shampoo

1.9 Oz. for $9.95

One size only

The Official Lush Website says that “this little puck of joy buffs and shines like no liquid can. A couple of swipes worked up into a lather to moisturize the scalp, breathe life into the lifeless and shine your hair like a champ. Economical and easy to use, Seanik’s citrus and seaweed combo enriches and enlivens while its fragrance entices all who cross your path. Now proudly SLS-free.”

Sodium Coco-Sulfate, Irish Moss Gel (Chondrus crispus), Perfume, Nori Seaweed (Fucus vesiculosus), Sea Salt (Sodium Chloride), Lemon Oil (Citrus limonum), Mimosa Absolute (Mimosa tenuiflora), Orange Blossom Absolute (Citrus dulcis), Jasmine Absolute (Jasminum officinale), Cocamide DEA, *Limonene, FD&C Blue No.1


My Review:

Like many of my generation, I’ve oft romanticized the bourgeois vagrant lifestyle. Sleeping on couches, getting by on the kindness of others, making friends on the road and carrying everything you’ve got on your back. It’s a very early-American (in a good way) kind of yearning for simple comforts and joyous freedom. Freedom from oppressive institutions that try and keep you in the suburbs, working for the man, squeezing chemical shampoo out of gigantic bottles, happy to be chained to synthetic ultra-shine haircare products. And that’s really what Seanik Solid Shampoo bar is all about. Mobility, sustainability and limited liability (and the award for Best Segue of the Year goes to…)

First and foremost, why should you use a solid shampoo when there are plenty of excellent (debatable) bottled shampoos out there? For one thing, each little cake of this soap is equal to 3 regular sized bottles of shampoo. I’ll say that again, because honestly, it’s amazing. 3 regular bottles worth. I mean, cost effectiveness alone should make this product an instant 5 out of 5. But the hits don’t stop there. Let’s take a walk, shall we?

As I eluded to in the opening paragraph, solid shampoos are incredibly convenient for the traveler, student or anyone who sees portability as a priority. I don’t know how many of you have ever though about this, but liquid shampoos are a huge hassle when you’re trying to pack light. Most come in huge bottles, spill easily and can’t be taken in any sufficient quantity on airplanes. I’ve always just circumvented this problem by leaving shampoo out of my toiletry kit, which means I usually just make do with my regular bar of soap. Of course, this usually leads to tangled, dry, damaged hair and dandruff. I mean, it works in a pinch, but knowing I can just pop this compact little puck into a tin and not have to worry about it is pretty effing sweet.

Okay, so the ‘medium,’ so to speak, is awesome. Let me get down to why this particular solid shampoo kicks ass. The first thing I always notice on a product like this is the smell. Seanik has a rich, mossy scent, a bit floral, a little citrusy with slight smoky undertones. Definitely inspired by the ocean breeze. One of my big qualms with most shampoos is that they smell too synthetic and perfumey and after a few hours your hair just smells like, well, hair. Or at worst, wet marmot. Seanik smells fresh and organic (because it is fresh and organic) and the fragrance stays in your hair all day. Siq.

Seanik definitely makes a good lather, which is impressive because it is SLS-free. For those who don’t know, SLS is a compound normally added to soaps and shampoos to make them lather more and feel thicker and more concentrated. It’s also normally used as a de-greaser and industrial cleaning solution. In other words, not something you want in your hair. A lot of people don’t like Lush shampoos because they don’t leave your hair feeling sleek and smooth afterward, which is essentially because other shampoos leave nasty chemicals in your hair to make them feel artificially smooth. Personally I like knowing and feeling that my hair is clean when I finish washing it. Some people don’t, but they’re dorks and I don’t like them. Just saying.

As for the beauty benefits of the soap, I can’t really say I’ve noticed a huge difference. I have relatively short hair and, well, I’m a boy, so I don’t pay very close attention to the level of shine or volume. Not that gender has much to do with it, but I’m more worried about whether my hair looks stupid than whether it looks good. Nah mean? I’m not saying one way or another whether the seaweed and orange blossoms help with these things, but they definitely don’t hurt the composition of the soap. Bottom line is, it cleans well, it smells amazing and it’s incredibly long lasting. Enough said.

TIP: To make this shampoo last longer, keep it dry! Don’t leave it soaking in your shower. Take it out of your shower after every use, pat it dry with a towel and leave it to dry in a tin or a soap dish.

Bang-for-Your-Buck Rating: $$$


Overall Rating:
4.5

3 responses to “Seanik Solid Shampoo by Alex

  1. Seanik may be a wonder for some but it totally wrecked my hair. It made my hair far more frizzy and totally dried out and dull. I spent more trying to repair my hair with Rehab and Retread and that combo gave me far more results. my rating is $. I’t not worth the cash IMO

  2. Heather S,
    Wow. I’m sorry to hear that. Did you notice a difference immediately or did you use it for a long time before it started to mess up your hair? I’ve got pretty short, straight hair and I’ve only been using it for about a week or two (though this isn’t the first solid shampoo bar I’ve used) and I haven’t really noticed anything like you described. I mean, there is a lot of sea salt in the soap, which would definitely explain the dried out, frizzy problem, so I’m not totally surprised by your response.

    If you ever decide to give it another try, you might want to use Veganese or one of their other conditioners to replenish some of the natural oils that the salt absorbs. If you liked the solid shampoo format, you might want to try Squeaky Green or Karma Koma. They’re for more delicate hair types and contain more moisturizing agents than Seanik.

    -AB

  3. TrailerTrashPrincess

    i don’t care much for the Seanick smell (i’m more of a Karma Komba girl) but i wanted to add – if you can get yourself a shower shelf contraption* you can leave the solid shampoos in the shower without worrying about them melting away too fast.
    * = we have both the tension-pole kind that goes from the edge of the tub to the ceiling, and another that’s stuck in the corner with double-stick tape. i have solid shampoos and shower pucks on the top shelf of both.

Leave a Reply

