Magic Bath Bomb by Alex

Magic Bath Bomb

Product Preview! Brand new for Christmas 2008!

About the Item

$5.95 (Or at least we think so; there is not yet a price listed on the North American Lush website, as it has not yet been released for general consumption, but it costs 3.10 in the UK.)

This item contains: Sodium Bicarbonate, Citric Acid, Perfume, Thymus Mastichina Oil, Rosa Damascena Extract, Ocimum Basilicum (Basil) Oil, Mentha Piperita (Peppermint) Oil, Eugenol, Geraniol, Benzyl Benzoate, Citronellol, Linalool, FD&C Blue No. 1, FD&C Yellow No. 5, D&C Red No. 33, and Carum Petroselinum (Parsley) Extract.

The Official Lush Website lists Magic as a new product for Christmas 2008. It was available at the September UK Forum Party and the October NA Chat Party and will be available to the general public for the Christmas 2008 season. The Lush describes Magic as “a 14-sided bomb that turns your bathwater a deep sapphire blue. Seen from the top, it’s a hexagon, or ‘hex’ bomb, with a blend of marjoram and rose in the shell to dissolve anxieties. Then, as the water changes color, basil and peppermint oils swirl into your tub to bring you growth, vitality and energy.”

My Review:

Being one who is naturally inclined to superstition, I’m always a bit daunted by products that unabashedly claim to be ‘magic.’ What if there’s some malevolent (or at least ironic) wizard somewhere, pumping out products that are actually magic and using the whole marketing scheme as a clever ploy to hide out in plain site while his product wreak havoc on our fragile little reality. Unlikely? Yes. None the less, I think my encounter with this product was much too serendipitous to be relegated to the realm of evil wizards. A little more like fate, but without all the nasty connotations and issues with free will.

Sally and I got back today from apple picking in New Hampshire and found that a few packages had arrived, one of which contained a number of products that she won in the UK Forum Party. We unrolled a strangely shaped object wrapped in the signature Lush paper and found, to our surprise, not the typical spheroid Bath Bomb, but a gigantic, pungent tetradecagon that looked like it belonged in some ogre’s Dungeons and Dragons game. Of course it didn’t have any numbers (and really, what would you ever use a D14 for?), but the shape made a big first impression. Sally was super excited because she was DYING to try this but hadn’t ordered it in time in the online forum/chat parties.
Now this is the first [Lush] Bath Bomb I’ve ever used, as I don’t often take baths, so I’m sure a number of my observations are going to be of the kind that would describe most things of this sort. I’m not talking about observations like “Holy crap! It Fizzes!” I mean, it does do that… but the point is, I’m going to try to give it my honest first impressions and stay specific to this particular product as much as possible. I imagine there are not enormous differences between bath bombs (maybe I’m wrong), which is why this caveat is necessary.

So, first of all, love the smell. It’s a little strange, actually (the smell that is). I don’t know if it would be for everyone. It’s sweet smelling, and floral, but a little… herbaceous. Not in a bad way. It just smells like what it is: a magic spell. It’s got basil, marjoram and peppermint, so it’s no big surprise. I think its aroma actually improves significantly when you put it in the bath. It’s like someone filled the Sorting Hat with magical, bubbling blue water and tossed you in. Okay, that was a bad analogy, but trust me, it’s good.

The colors are also really amazing. When you first drop it in it literally makes the water velvety blue where ever it does its little effervescent dance. Gradually the outer shell wears away and the inside is red (and apparently composed of different nice smelling things, which is probably why it smells better in the tub than it does in your hand). The combination turns the water into a really cool shade of deep, blueish purple. I don’t know what the practical advantages of this are, though purple products are supposed to be good for blondes (?), but it sure is lovely.

I think the best thing about this bath bomb is how smooth and silky it makes the water. There are lots of awesome moisturizing oils in this bath bomb and they make your skin feel really nice. Apparently a lot of people use them to shave their legs and whatnot. Just pop it in the bath, let it soak in and then go all wolverine with the razor; no cream or gel required. I don’t know if I’d attempt this (or if I’d even want to…), but I think it says a lot about how silky and soft it makes your skin. Best part is, I’m sitting in bed a few hours after taking the bath and I can still smell that delicious potion all over my body. It’ actually really invigorating. I was practically asleep when I took the bath and now I’m wide awake and ready to finally add some content to our blog (heh… heh… sorry. I’ve been busy!)

Actually, I think my favorite part about this bath bomb is that there is a sprig of parsley in the center of the mix. Not sure what it does exactly, but I appreciate little details like that a helluva lot more than sparkley blue glitter and sunshine extract. From the shape to the color to the contents, this thing is delicious and absurd. I don’t know if I would buy this again, but I think that’s mostly just because it’s a bit of a luxury item and I don’t take many baths. But for a guy like me it’s a nice treat and for all of you out there who take baths on the regular, I think you’ll quite enjoy this big blue hunk of heathen witchcraft.

Bang for your Buck: $$

Overall Rating: 3

One response to “Magic Bath Bomb by Alex

  1. “big blue hunk of heathen witchcraft”

    Incredible.

Leave a Reply

