Vanishing Cream Moisturizer by Sally

About the Item:

Vanishing Cream Moisturizer

1.7 oz. $35.95

The Official Lush Website lists Vanishing Cream as a “light-as-a-feather moisturizer for acne-prone or oily skin.” It also says that “this low fat moisturizer has minimal oil, making it perfect for those with acne, oily skin or a spotty T-zone (forehead, nose and chin). Light-as-a-feather Vanishing Cream sinks into the skin quickly; we left out the cocoa butter and used shea butter and softening linseed gel, camellia, grapeseed and jojoba oils instead. You don’t have to have problem skin to use it; this comforting, balanced moisturizer keeps normal skin clear with lavender, rose and neroli. Vanishing Cream really does make skin troubles, well, vanish.”

It contains the following natural and/or organic components: Linseed Infusion (Linum usitatissimum), Water (Aqua), Rose Water (Rosa centifolia), Lavender Honey Water (Lavandula augustifolia), Organic Grapeseed Oil (Vitis vinifera), Honey (Mel), Organic Jojoba Oil (Simmondsia chinensis), Witch Hazel Extract (Hamamelis virginiana), Fair Trade Organic Shea Butter (Butyrospermum Parkii),Camella Oil (Camella japonita), Lavender Oil (Lavandula augustifolia), Neroli Oil (Citrus amara), Geranium Oil (Pelargonium graveolens), Glycerine, Tincture of Benzoin (Styrax benzoin), Geraniol, Limonene, Linalool, and Perfume.

It contains the following safe synthetic ingredients: Stearic Acid, Cetearyl Alcohol, Triethanolamine, Methylparaben, and Propylparaben.

My Review:

I have several Lush lotions, but this was the first moisturizer I bought specifically for my face. I have never been a bath & body person; I love nice smelling shampoo, but that is just about where my obsession ends (or at least, used to)– EXCEPT for my face. I have oily skin, and am really careful about cleaning it properly. My whole life I’ve relied on St. Ives products with salicylic acid in them to keep my face feeling smooth, so it was a rather large step for me to go 100% Lush. I’ve trained my brain to think that my skin can’t be clear unless I’m using medicine to make it so… it has never really occured to me that all natural products would make a difference and balance out my skin organically.

Since I’ve gone 100% Lush, I haven’t quite found the perfect combination of skin cleansers (I use Fresh Farmacy consistantly, but sometimes use Sweet Japanese Girl before bed, and use Ocean Salt probably three times a week. I also use Tea Tree Toner after my cleanser at night…) so my skin hasn’t DRAMATICALLY improved. I know this all may seem irrelevant, but I wanted to give a little background information on my skin and what products work for me.

As this is my first Lush moisturizer, I don’t have much to compare it to (but I HAVE tried samples of Imperialis and Enzymion and am happy to do a comparison review at your request, I also have Imperialis on the way from the UK!) but I am definetly loving it so far. I’ll admit I never, ever would have bought this except for the fact that Lush stores were running a promotion last week where if you spend $40, you get any of the new products for free. I chose the most expensive, figuring I’d never buy it otherwise and that it’d make a good review. It was a teeny, TEENY little pot of moisturizer for almost $40. I figured I’d probably go through this thing in about a week.

I took it home and when I took a shower later that night, I decided to throw some on. I had used Fresh Farmacy in the shower, followed by a quick swipe of Tea Tree Toner, so my skin was clean and fresh. I opened the top I frowned at how little was inside, and took a tiny little glob onto my finger just to try it (the only amount I can think to compare this to is the amount you might take out of a pot of lip gloss for your lips– a seriously small amount. I’ll upload a picture later). I rubbed it onto my face and marveled! What a pleasant surprise! First of all, this stuff lasted FOREVER. That tiny glob was enough for my entire face! It was light and airy, smooth and clean. As I rubbed it on, I felt my skin instantly softening and smoothing out, as if this airy substance was filling all the little cracks, pores and crevices with clean air. This sounds so corny, but it was seriously amazing. My face had a beautiful matte finish, as the moisturizer sunk in almost immediately, and I didn’t have to wait 20 minutes to put on makeup like I have had to with other moisturizers in the past.

I turned to Alex and said “You have to try this!” and he took a teeny bit off of the lid and marveled at the mechanics of it, as well. I have had this for over a week and I am still using the residue on the top of the lid!

Now, it feels great, but does it really work? It is definetly moisturizing my face and balancing out the oils– this is good. Normally I use St. Ives Whipped Lotion for my face, but as it isn’t really a top notch facial moisturizer, and is aimed more toward the body, my face was oily by mid day. With this moisturizer, I normally use it in the morning after my shower (9am-ish) and my face still feels excellent by 11pm. Of course, by then I am taking my makeup off and washing my face again. I definetly feel like it has helped with oil/chemical control, but as I only recently switched to Lush face cleansers about 3 weeks ago, I’m certain that has a big part of it, too. The combination of Lush facial cleansers + Vanishing Cream is to die for in terms of oil control. I can’t compare this to Gorgeous, because I would never spend that much money on one product (sorry), but every review I’ve read says that this is the next best thing in terms of lightness– it is incredibly airy and light, in case I haven’t made that clear enough.

However, this product, from what I hear, appears to be making people break out! That makes absolutely no sense to me, and I don’t know why it would, but I have to mention that while this is helping with oil control and making my pores appear much smaller (either alone or in combination with cleansers), my blemishes haven’t particularly been decreasing in frequency. I don’t have acne, or “bad skin” really, just blemishes that are probably stress-induced. Stress rules my life. 🙂

So, I know this is a fairly raving review, but I can’t say for sure whether or not this is worth the money. Sure, it has helped with the oil control, but if it isn’t really doing anything for blemishes, I have to think about how much that is worth to me. If you are dead set on going all-Lush, and have oily skin, I’d opt for this, Imperialis, or Enzymion. If you don’t care much about going all-Lush, I’d try this and if it doesn’t do much for you, just stick with a Clean & Clear Facial Moisturizer for about $30 less.

Bang-For-Your-Buck Rating: $$ (We’ll see how long this lasts)

Overall Rating: 4

One response to “Vanishing Cream Moisturizer by Sally

  1. Vanishing Cream is my first Lush Facial Moisturiser too, and I must say I’m quite pleasantly surprised with the result. I thought it was going to be all sticky and gooey and too thick, but it is actually just the right texture, just the right moisture for day and night! I thought I wasn’t able to wear this during the day but I’ve been wearing this day and night everyday for the past a month or more, and I’m still just about halfway through the pot! Amazing! =] I want to try Enzymion next though, but I wonder if I should have this one as a back up once I’m done. hahaha… great post!

    cheers,
    dana

Leave a Reply

