Humango by Sally

217615831_tp2

About the item:

Humango Bath Bomb
24.59 oz / 700 grams
$14.00 (now discontinued and not for sale)

The official Lush website no longer makes mention of Humango anywhere on their site (in fact, if you search Humango, there will be no results found!). However, I found a description of the item that was originally on the Lush website stored away on Amazon. So, the description says that “Humango bath bomb is four times the weight” of a usual bath bomb, and it is “scented with reviving, You’ve Been Mangoed fragrance of lemongrass, lime and lemon essential oils. It blasts you into wakefulness with a humongous helping of refreshing scents. Inside, you’ve got tiny pieces of You’ve Been Mangoed bath melt to moisturise your skin with nutritious mango butter.” Yum.

As the website no longer makes mention of Humango, I can’t seem to find a complete ingredient list anywhere. I emailed Lush for information on the item, but until I get it, I can only go off of the above listed description for clues as to what is in it.

My Review:

I’ve probably mentioned this before, but I had never thought twice about taking a bath until I met Lush one fateful afternoon in Harvard Square, Boston. Frankly, it seemed like a grand old waste of time (and water– because I insisted on the water being piping hot). Seriously, what a pain in the ass! Walking into the bathroom, assessing the condition of the tub… peeling the long hairs or dog hairs from the sides, and then wondering how the dog hairs even got there… either bleaching or spraying mildew remover accordingly, depending on how scuzzy the tub really is…

Yeah, so my pre-bath routine might be a little different from YOUR pre-bath routine, but whatever. I’m a college student living with four other people who don’t always share the same hygiene standards that I hold myself to. Showering is easy on my OCD; only my feet touch the tub. But a bath? Too much work for not a lot of fun. Well, Humango changed all that. Actually, to be honest with you, Supernova ballistic changed all that, but Humango made me want to stay in my dog-hairy-soap-scummy tub forever.

I received this bath bomb in a group order from the UK a looong time ago, but it came all smashed up. Bummer. I told Lush customer service about it and, peaches that they are, they sent me TWO brand spankin’ new ones. I put them on my shelf on top of all my other bath bombs, perched like the kings of the mountain that they are, and let their aroma fill my room for a few weeks. I couldn’t work up the motivation to actually use one… they’re huge! About four-five times the size of normal bath bombs and weighing in at roughly 1.5 pounds, I didn’t have the heart to break them up but also couldn’t fathom using the entire thing on something as inferior as my college kid, suave infested tub. After all, how could I let something so beautiful witness the treachary of a tub filled with common bath goods from the local CVS? No, no, it just didn’t seem right. So I let it sit in my room, nice and warm, squishing all my other Lush.

And squish it did. Let me reiterate: 1.5 pounds of bath bomb. Lifting this thing to smell it was simultaneously working out my biceps. But I didn’t care, because I couldn’t stop smelling it! It carried a 10 foot aura of lemongrass and citrus everywhere it went, and although the picture correctly depicts the fact that it was colorless, it does NOT accurately demonstrate the speckles of bath bombs contained within it.

Now, if you’ve ever owned a Humango or seen a video of it, I’m curious to know: how many You’ve Been Mango’d bath melt chunks (roughly) were in your bath bomb? Even this video of Humango does NOT do it justice. If I had taken all of the chunks of you’ve been mango’d that were in my Humango and combined them, I likely would have had eight full bath melts. Was I just lucky? Did I get a Humango with an unusual amount of bath melt in it? Now, those bath melts sell for $5-6 a pop– you do the math. When I finally decided to use this, I put the entire thing in because I couldn’t bear to break it and it fizzed for over ten minutes! Huge chunks of bath melt were floating in the tub with me, so I snatched them up to rub on my skin for extra softener. This bath bomb was worth way more than $14.

The cons? Well, it was expensive, like I said. But it was so worth it. I mean, if you’re into bath goods and taking baths, this is the king of all bath bombs. It was incredible. If I lucked out and got a super charged Humango, then I’m not sure you’ll have the same experience as I did. The bath melts REALLY added to this bath bomb and made it ten times more enjoyable than I predict it would have been otherwise. The other big con for me is that it was colorless! So lame! The tub stayed a murky clear-brown weirdness that develops after taking a bath when you’re filthy from a long day of work and general wear-and-tear. I love the colors that bath bombs change the water (it is a big part of the experience for me, in fact), so not seeing beautiful bright colors really saddened me.

To anyone who loves citrus smells, I highly recommend you try to pick one of these up on ebay. I’ve seen a few auctions for them at around $15, which may be well worth it if your little heart is set on trying this. Otherwise, feel free to take a stab at our latest promotion.

Advertise this blog somewhere (on a forum, in a comment on another blog, in your blog… anywhere!) and post a comment with the link to where you advertised, as well as your email so I can contact you, and I’ll enter you in a raffle to get a piece of my shattered Humango. Alex will choose three winners at random. The drawing will occur February 19th, so get your comments posted by February 18th.

Bang-for-your-Buck Rating: $$
Overall Rating: 5

One response to “Humango by Sally

  1. Just shooting you a note with the full contents list I copied from the Lush times…

    Sodium Bicarbonate, Citric Acid, *Citral, Cocoa Butter, Lemongrass oil, Laureth 4, Lemon Oil, Lime Oil, Avocado Butter, Mango Butter, Almond Oil, *Geraniol, *Citronellol, *Limonene, *Linalool, Perfume, Paprika extract

    All ingredients are green, with the exception of the Sodium Bicarb and Laureth 4

    Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

